The Steering Group sets the strategic direction for Health Technology Wales. The group ensures that we deliver against our remit, that we are ‘fit for purpose’ and that our guidance has national relevance for patient care in NHS Wales. Current members are listed below.

Peter Groves

Consultant Interventional Cardiologist, Steering Group Chair

Professor Peter Groves

Peter is a Consultant Interventional Cardiologist at the University Hospital of Wales. He is also Chair of the MHRA Devices Expert Advisory Committee and the NICE Medical Technologies Advisory Committee, and has a great interest in the regulation and health technology assessment of innovative medical devices in the context of the UK NHS. Peter is committed to teaching and research, and has published widely on the scientific basis for medical technology development and utilisation.

HTW Placeholder

Dr Paul Buss

Medical Director, Consultant Paediatrician, Aneurin Bevan UHB

Biography >
X Paul has been a Consultant Paediatrician since 1993 and has been involved in clinical management roles since 2003. He has been Chair of the All Wales Medicines Strategy Group, Chair of a ‘task and finish’ group for Non-Surgical Cosmetic Procedures in Wales, and Chair of the All Wales Medical Devices and Consumables Strategy Group. Paul’s chief interest is aligning clinical policy with evidence-based decision making and increasing senior clinical involvement in NHS resource decisions.

Ifan Evans

Director of Technology & Transformation, Welsh Government

Biography >
X Ifan is the Welsh Government lead for technology and innovation in health and care. He works closely with NHS Wales, universities and businesses to support open innovation partnerships, and the use of new and emerging technologies. Ifan also leads the delivery of A Healthier Wales, the new national plan for health and social care in Wales.
Steve Ham portrait

Steve Ham

Chief Executive, Velindre NHS University Trust

Biography >
X After graduating in Business Administration at Bath University, Steve trained as an accountant with Grant Thornton before becoming a Senior Manager at Ernst and Young. He joined the NHS in 1993 with Gwent Health Authority, became the Interim Director of Finance in 2002 before the Director of Finance at Newport Local Health Board. Steve has been with Velindre NHS Trust since 2009 as the Director of Finance and is now the Chief Executive.

Julie Keegan

Director, Planning and Performance, Cwm Taff UHB

Susan Myles

Dr Susan Myles

Director, Health Technology Wales

Biography >
X Susan has been engaged in applied health technology assessment for 25 years. Before joining Health Technology Wales, she led the development and work of the Scottish Health Technologies Group. Susan has received scholarships from the Department of Health and Medical Research Council, and is a previous recipient of a Harkness Fellowship in Health Care Policy. She holds qualifications in Economics (BA), Health Economics (MSc & PhD) and Epidemiology (PgDip).
HTW Placeholder

Dr Wyn Parry

Medical Director, Powys Teaching Health Board

Biography >
X Wyn joined Powys Teaching Health Board in September 2018 as medical director and after over thirty years in the NHS in England and Wales. Half of this period was as a Consultant Thoracic Surgeon and alongside a variety of both medical managerial and academic roles. His interests are quality improvement and, particularly in relation to HTW, the assessment and introduction of innovative interventional techniques both medical and surgical.

The Steering Group includes senior representatives from Health Technology Wales, NHS Wales and Welsh Government. To learn more about the purpose of the group, see the Health Technology Wales Steering Group Terms of Reference.